Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum Linuxiarze.pl

Author Topic: how to allow 1 digit passwords on installation  (Read 107 times)

Offline barfly

how to allow 1 digit passwords on installation
« on: February 15, 2020, 01:28:22 pm »
Hi- I am new to sparkylinux and have had to abandon the installation as the installer insists on a complex password.  I only ever use a single digit login on my machines at

home; this is the only distribution I have come across that insists on these arbitrary rules on install.

No-one has physical access to my computer except me and I detest unmanageable passwords.

I would like to try sparky as it intrigues me but this is a total non-starter for me.

If I cannot alter this install behaviour I'll stick with Kubuntu.

Can anybody suggest a remedy.  I have tried editing the /etc/pam.d folder files with no success.

Regards, Tony.

Offline pavroo

• Global Moderator
    • SparkyLinux
Re: how to allow 1 digit passwords on installation
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2020, 02:00:28 pm »
You have two solutions for that:

1. Install Sparky having 6 digits (at least) password as required; after the first login change your password, by the command:
Code: [Select]
passwdand root password if needed:
sudo passwd root
2. Running Sparky live, before installation, edit a Calamares user config file:
sudo nano /usr/share/calamares/modules/users.conf(use different editor than nano if you'd like)
and go to "libpwquality:" option changing:
- minlen=6to your number of digits, then save the file and run the installer as normal.
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline barfly

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2020, 02:10:49 pm »
Pavroo - thank you for such a prompt response.   Your suggestion 1) is the method I normally use, but the install insisted on 14 digits with a capitals, numeral and sign.