Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum Linuxiarze.pl

Author Topic: <SOLVED> Populate Greeter on XFCE  (Read 1198 times)

Offline Midas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
<SOLVED> Populate Greeter on XFCE
« on: August 17, 2019, 05:08:47 pm »
Simple question: is the answer given here (sparkylinux.org/forum/index.php/topic,4918.0.html) also valid for XFCE?

Asking because all values in my '/etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf' are commented out.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2019, 10:43:17 pm by Midas »

Offline paxmark1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
  • Karma: 4
  • https://forum.sparkylinux.org/index.php/topic,4614
Re: Populate Greeter on XFCE
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2019, 07:32:42 pm »
If you have not uncommented out the single line please try that and see if it works.  You can always put the # back. 
Search forum for "More info easier via inxi"    If requested -  no inxi, no help for you by  me.

Offline Midas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Populate Greeter on XFCE
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2019, 08:34:38 pm »
Quote from: paxmark1
If you have not uncommented out the single line please try that and see if it works.  You can always put the # back.

I did already. But with my little know-how I am always afraid to break things beyond repair -- it's not like that hasn't happened often enough.

Offline paxmark1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
  • Karma: 4
  • https://forum.sparkylinux.org/index.php/topic,4614
Re: Populate Greeter on XFCE
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2019, 07:07:19 am »
There are many things that you can do in linux to make long lasting changes. 

This is not one of them.  It would be similar to your caps lock. 

Uncomment out, reboot, and see what happens.  If it does not work, then put the # back where it was and reboot. 
Search forum for "More info easier via inxi"    If requested -  no inxi, no help for you by  me.

Offline Midas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Populate Greeter on XFCE
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2019, 07:58:52 pm »
Sadly, it didn't work. It's no biggie, just a paper-cut. 8)

Offline 21grams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
Re: Populate Greeter on XFCE
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2019, 07:52:05 am »
There could be 2 entries in lightdm.conf - be sure to use the second entry under [Seat:*].
21grams >> light in flight

Offline Midas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: Populate Greeter on XFCE
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2019, 08:31:37 pm »
Quote from: 21grams
There could be 2 entries in lightdm.conf - be sure to use the second entry under [Seat:*].


I see. I made the change under "[LightDM]"... I'll have to check again and report back. Thanks.  8)

EDIT: working now. Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2019, 10:42:26 pm by Midas »