Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum Linuxiarze.pl

Author Topic: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder  (Read 20871 times)

Offline tems

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #30 on: December 10, 2014, 03:26:43 am »
Thanks, Pavroo
Hi
Have you read the guides already?
It looks like you don't choose right directory - it's very important.
http://sparkylinux.org/custom-iso-builder-howto-part-2/

No, i had chosen the directory correct. it takes to process various minutes, but in the end does not generate iso.
i think because upgrade...

Please, please, i will like a tutorial for upgrade the 3.5xfce, change locale (language) and generate new iso.

Thanks an advance.

Tomaz Edson
Piaui - Brazil

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #31 on: December 10, 2014, 12:39:17 pm »
Can you try again with the new iso of sparky 3.6 xfce?
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline tems

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #32 on: December 11, 2014, 12:45:01 am »
Can you try again with the new iso of sparky 3.6 xfce?

My distro is 3.5 xfce updated, but now o chroot not work. it can't find the bash (more or less). My version is 0.1.2

i managed with sudo chroot /mydirectory/squashfs-root/

I would like to know how to change the language for the live pr_BR.UTF-8. I did dpkg-reconfigure locales but does not seem to be enough.

Help!!!

« Last Edit: December 11, 2014, 01:27:23 am by tems »

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #33 on: December 11, 2014, 01:20:58 pm »
1. Reconfigure locales - what you did already.
2. Edit /etc/rc.local and add configuration for pr_BR locale.
2. Edit /etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg and add entry for pr_BR as the first.

But...
The latest live installer 20141204-1 doesn't work well with different localization than en_US. That's why I removed all the locales from iso 3.6 (excluding en_US).
But...
There still is the old installer in the live system so if you set new iso locale to pr_BR you can use the old installer if you'd like.
But...
The old installer works on BIOS machines only, doesn't support EFI machines.

Don't call "Help", please.
What we do here is helping anyway.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2014, 01:59:44 pm by pavroo »
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline Chdslv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #34 on: December 11, 2014, 07:43:31 pm »
1. Reconfigure locales - what you did already.
2. Edit /etc/rc.local and add configuration for pr_BR locale.
3. Edit /etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg and add entry for pr_BR as the first.

#2. /etc/rc.local is usually empty.
#3. There is no /etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg in either 3.5 or 3.6 releases, after installing, but its there in squashfs-root, and can be changed, but doesn't work with Custom Iso Builder. One has to change /YourDirectory/ISOTEMP/ISOMOUNT/isolinux/live.cfg.

Either we have to use Custom Iso Builder or Remastersys.

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #35 on: December 11, 2014, 08:08:28 pm »
Quote
#2. /etc/rc.local is usually empty.
No, it's not.
Up to sparky version 3.5 there is configuration for all locales used in live system.
Check: /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/etc/rc.local
Quote
There is no /etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg in either 3.5 or 3.6 releases
No, there is not.
Custom Iso Builder can be used to remaster iso image NOT installed system.
live.cfg file is in: /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline Chdslv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #36 on: December 11, 2014, 09:30:44 pm »
Quote
#2. /etc/rc.local is usually empty.
No, it's not.
Up to sparky version 3.5 there is configuration for all locales used in live system.
Check: /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/etc/rc.local
Quote
There is no /etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg in either 3.5 or 3.6 releases
No, there is not.
Custom Iso Builder can be used to remaster iso image NOT installed system.
live.cfg file is in: /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg

#1. Yes, it is not empty in 3.5, but empty in 3.6. I'm not 100% sure, whether to stay with 3.5, or move to 3.6, as once dist-upgrade, you get the new kernel.

#2. This live.cfg in /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg has nothing to do with remastering with Custom Iso Builder, when trying to remaster the iso image, does it? You have to change the live.cfg in /WORKINGDIRECTORY/ISOTEMP/ISOMOUNT/isolinux/live.cfg, if you have to get something done with remastering the iso image, right? I am not talking about remastering the installed system here, but the iso image.

By the way, when using Build_New, it doesn't always copy the initrd.img to /WORKINGDIRECTORY/ISOTEMP/ISOMOUNT/isolinux/live, and goes on to build the iso without the initrd.img, so I had to copy it manually into the newly built iso. It would be nice to stop the process to look in, before it starts to create the isohybrid. 

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #37 on: December 11, 2014, 09:53:40 pm »
Quote
Yes, it is not empty in 3.5, but empty in 3.6.
That's right, I mentioned it before.
If you have 3.5 upgraded already, you don't need to use 3.6.
The file: /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/etc/remastersys/isolinux/live.cfg will be used to choose and run live system in your locale.
Quote
By the way, when using Build_New, it doesn't always copy the initrd.img
If you upgraded the chrooted system and the upgrading installed a new kernel,  try to rebuild the initrd:
Code: [Select]
update-initrd -uThen uninstall the old kernel.
Check is the initrd.img linking to the newest initrd-number.img in /WORKINGDIRECTORY/squashfs-root/boot/ directory.
Maybe it helps.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 04:16:29 pm by pavroo »
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline tems

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #38 on: December 13, 2014, 03:08:56 am »
Thanks, Pavroo
Excuse-me for the "help!", i"m sure you are here to help everyone.

After i post test results.


Offline tems

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #39 on: December 14, 2014, 03:18:27 am »
Hi, team,

I need to do something before update packages? (in chroot)

What is the dbus-uuidgen > /var/lib/dbus/machine-id? Its necessary?

Thanks an advance.

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #40 on: December 14, 2014, 02:10:09 pm »
Quote
I need to do something before update packages?
I don't think so.
Quote
What is the dbus-uuidgen
http://dbus.freedesktop.org/doc/dbus-uuidgen.1.html
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline Chdslv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #41 on: April 15, 2015, 11:03:12 am »
Pavroo, Custom Iso Builder usually increases the size of the custom built iso by about 30% in Build-new, even when no new application is installed. Is there a way to change this? 

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #42 on: April 15, 2015, 01:08:36 pm »
Even you haven't installed new packages, have you upgraded all of the existing ones?
If yes clean the cache:
Code: [Select]
apt-get autoremove && apt-get cleanand try again.
Let me know about results.
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net

Offline MoroS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • Karma: 0
  • Problem solver ;)
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #43 on: April 15, 2015, 01:21:28 pm »
Code: [Select]
apt-get autoremove && apt-get clean
Maybe we should include this step in CIB and SBS? Since someone wants to build an ISO from his system, he should clean up a bit. That's not always the case, so we might ask the user if he wants to clean up the packages prior to making the ISO.
There isn't a single thing that's impossible. Just the things that we don't yet know how to deal with. ;)

Offline pavroo

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Karma: 2
    • SparkyLinux
Re: SparkyLinux Custom ISO Builder
« Reply #44 on: April 15, 2015, 02:14:51 pm »
It's good idea, I will add it.
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux at irc.freenode.net