SparkyLinux Forums

Software & hardware support => Desktops => Topic started by: cecca on November 30, 2020, 04:51:58 pm

Title: Change the color of the lockscreen in i3
Post by: cecca on November 30, 2020, 04:51:58 pm
Hi!
I'm like the i3wm and the possibility to configure it (and also the fact that is lightweight and so much keyboard oriented) but I'm facing few drawbacks that I can't solve by myself

By example: how can I give to i3lock a color for when the xautolock will get in action?  don't like the fact that my screen is readable before inserting my password.
I've tried adding the
Code: [Select]
--color "$bg-color" to the i3block part in i3 config without success

Can you help me, please?
Title: Re: Change the color of the lockscreen in i3
Post by: lami07 on November 30, 2020, 06:10:42 pm
Example
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id xautolock -time 10 -locker 'i3lock -c ######' &
Replace ###### with a proper color in RRGGBB format.
Title: Re: Change the color of the lockscreen in i3
Post by: cecca on December 01, 2020, 02:04:51 pm
Example
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id xautolock -time 10 -locker 'i3lock -c ######' &
Replace ###### with a proper color in RRGGBB format.

Thanks.
From the CLI is working (
Code: [Select]
i3lock -c 2081D5) but not from the config file:
Code: [Select]
exec --no-startup-id xautolock -time 10 -locker 'i3lock-fancy -g -p -c 2081D5' & Above the standard line with only my edit for the color

Ill search for a solution, maybe I can try the indications at
Creating a custom lockscreen with i3lock
Code: [Select]
https://michaelabrahamsen.com/posts/custom-lockscreen-i3lock/
Title: Re: Change the color of the lockscreen in i3
Post by: lami07 on December 01, 2020, 05:41:41 pm
Code: [Select]
-locker 'i3lock-fancy -g -p -c 2081D5'This part tells xautolock to use I3lock-fancy as a locking mechanism. And I3lock-fancy is not the same as I3lock.
Use the example I gave you.
Title: Re: Change the color of the lockscreen in i3
Post by: cecca on December 02, 2020, 02:13:03 pm
I see... But what I wish to accomplish is the same as i3lock-fancy

I've just to find out what's missing since it doesn't take a snapshot before locking the screen

Thans for pointing me in the right direction anyway