SparkyLinux Forums

Software & hardware support => Applications => Topic started by: ansori on June 30, 2020, 09:16:03 am

Title: WPS Office not work on lastest Sparky
Post by: ansori on June 30, 2020, 09:16:03 am
I'm new using Sparky Linux. I have old Laptop with 1.8Ghz and 1Gb Ram. Tested running with Ubuntu 16.04 32bit, is rather laggy. So, I research other distro for working fine on my old Laptop.

Now, I'm testing Sparky Linux in Vbox. All is working fine. Small resources and very fast. I like it!
I prefer use WPS Office. So, I installed WPS Office:
method 1: download and install deb file from wps office official download.
method 2: install from aptUs.

The result is same.
After successfully installed. Open the WPS Office -> check the agreement -> then nothing happen. Wait for several minutes, wps office not launch.
Then I open again, still nothing happen.

I did sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get upgrade. Reinstall wps office. Same result -> nothing happen after check agreement or open the wps.

How to solve it?

Thank you.
Title: Re: WPS Office not work on lastest Sparky
Post by: pavroo on June 30, 2020, 11:09:46 am
What is your Sparky version and arch, please?
Title: Re: WPS Office not work on lastest Sparky
Post by: xingjiapeng on June 30, 2020, 01:28:57 pm
Hi!
I tried to download wps from official website and install it, it works well. (my sys is semi-rolling with xfce)
Probably you can run 'wps' in the terminal and see what happened.
Thanks.
Title: Re: WPS Office not work on lastest Sparky
Post by: bin on July 01, 2020, 06:40:35 am
On the Stable release there is a line in /etc/environment

QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2

I use a number of Qt based apps and in the end I have commented this line out - followed by reboot.

I install qt5ct, then I run
Code: [Select]
env QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct qt5ct to configure the Qt environment locally - I use the cleanlooks option as I have one app which segfaults using gtk2

All good - all look OK.

To cut a long story sideways you might want to try
Code: [Select]
env QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt5ct wps - if wps is the correct command. If that works you're on the right track.