Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum Linuxiarze.pl

Author Topic: Thunar sometimes makes my CPU go to 100%. How can I avoid that?  (Read 497 times)

Offline pirate-parrot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Hello,

I'm using Sparky Linux 6 Po-Tolo XFCE.
uname -a:
Linux mypc 5.10.0-5-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.10.24-1 (2021-03-19) x86_64 G
It's updated.

My question is:
Thunar sometimes makes my CPU go to 100%. How can I avoid that?

Offline paxmark1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • Karma: 4
  • https://forum.sparkylinux.org/index.php/topic,4614
Re: Thunar sometimes makes my CPU go to 100%. How can I avoid that?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2021, 10:25:16 pm »
Have you checked the Debian BTS for thunar?  I did a quick check, did not see anything. 
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/pkgreport.cgi?dist=unstable;package=thunar

Did you use htop (or top) to identify Thunar as the culprit or a widget that shows overall CPU usage? 
Search forum for "More info easier via inxi"    If requested -  no inxi, no help for you by  me.

Offline pirate-parrot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Thunar sometimes makes my CPU go to 100%. How can I avoid that?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2021, 11:44:41 pm »
Yes, I did check and it's really Thunar

My guess is this is happening because of thumbnails
But it also happens when I open folders in other partitions
The problem is that I am working with many images also in that same partitions

I have tried (a moment before I write this) to disable some settings in /etc/xdg/tumbler/tumbler.rc
Then I did log out and log in again
And tomorrow I'll see how it goes

However, if someone has some advice, please don't hesitate to reply here

Offline GoofProg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Thunar sometimes makes my CPU go to 100%. How can I avoid that?
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2021, 02:43:39 pm »
Just a question.
Are you running a script under Thunar the file manager?   If it is not shelling out to a console window it would maybe eat away from the Thunar app resources.

Offline pirate-parrot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Thunar sometimes makes my CPU go to 100%. How can I avoid that?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2021, 10:54:57 pm »
Just a question.
Are you running a script under Thunar the file manager?   If it is not shelling out to a console window it would maybe eat away from the Thunar app resources.

Very good question!

Yes, it is.
I run a lot of thunar custom actions.

However, I notice that the situation I described above happens many times when I use my Directory Menu shortcuts, which I one of my favourite's XFCE panel features.
But, when I do so, I am using Thunar...