Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum Linuxiarze.pl

Author Topic: LXDE on Bullseye - Sparky 6 Shutdown Bug  (Read 590 times)

Offline bin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: 2
LXDE on Bullseye - Sparky 6 Shutdown Bug
« on: January 07, 2021, 07:52:49 am »
Just thought I'd mention an interesting bug if you're trying LXDE on Sparky 6

When you try to shutdown or reboot when logged in there's a 90 second hang in the process.

Log out and shutdown is fine.

it is caused by a bug in PCmanfm https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=961084
« Last Edit: January 07, 2021, 07:54:57 am by bin »

Offline Murdock2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: LXDE on Bullseye - Sparky 6 Shutdown Bug
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2021, 11:00:11 pm »
If that's the case get rid of that garbage and install thunar

Offline paxmark1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
  • Karma: 4
  • https://forum.sparkylinux.org/index.php/topic,4614
Re: LXDE on Bullseye - Sparky 6 Shutdown Bug
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2021, 05:03:38 am »
as shown
https://metadata.ftp-master.debian.org/changelogs//main/p/pcmanfm/pcmanfm_1.3.1-1_changelog         

all the work for the last 2 years has gone to pcmanfm-qt.

https://metadata.ftp-master.debian.org/changelogs//main/t/thunar/thunar_4.16.1-1_changelog
Thunar is actively supprorted
Search forum for "More info easier via inxi"    If requested -  no inxi, no help for you by  me.

Offline bin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: 2
Re: LXDE on Bullseye - Sparky 6 Shutdown Bug
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2021, 06:23:30 am »
If that's the case get rid of that garbage and install thunar
Thunar works fine as a file manager but LXDE uses PCManfm to draw the desktop.

I can of course use xfdesktop to run the desktop in a hybrid which I have done in the past, but XFCE 4.16's GTK3 only interface is awkward to match up with some of my older themes.

The purpose if the the thread was not to seek solace or solutions, merely so that if anyone else encounters the same problem they will have an explanation of why shutdown hangs.