Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum https://forum.linuxiarze.pl

Need some help installing nvidia drivers [SOLVED]

Started by Severs, November 09, 2018, 08:17:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Severs

Going to admit right off the bat, I am a linux noob. I messed around with Kubuntu very slightly about 6 years ago, but other than that, total noob.

After having nonstop issues with Windows 10 for the last 4 months, I finally decided to make the jump to Linux as my primary OS. Fresh install today, GameOver Edition, and have been setting up since this morning. My first attempt was doing things, as I have seen it referred to, in the debian way. sudo apt-get nvidia-drivers. Completely bricked the install, upon reboot and after the grub screen all I got was a black screen with a flickering cursor in the upper left. Reinstalled sparky and started researching. Most answers I saw pointed me to the Device Driver Manager, which when I attempted to install gave me this as an output.

QuoteDepends: gir1.2-webkit-3.0  but it is not installable
Depends: nvidia-detect but it is not going to be installed
Depends: nvidia-installer-cleanup
Depends: apt-show-versions but it is not going to be installed
Depends: kdesudo  but it is not installable or
   gksu  but it is not installable

So I started doing some more research and I guess DDM is no longer being supported(?) I could be wrong, but as I am at a loss, I come asking for help.  :-[

Severs

Ok, so a little bit of an update here, not the results were any different but after a few hours I did figure out that the Nvidia drivers could be downloaded from the ATPus program (repository?) and I did try installing it from there, but again no luck. Bricks the install with the same black screen issue.

pavroo

Looks like the DDM works with gksu, which is available for stable line, so... have to fork it, stay tuned.
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel