Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum https://forum.linuxiarze.pl

Migrating from LMDE 2 MATE to Sparky "rolling" 5.5 MATE -- any suggestions?

Started by Bill Statler, October 14, 2018, 08:55:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Statler

Hello, all!  Sparky newbie here -- I'm downloading right now.

I'm currently running LMDE 2 (Linux Mint Debian Edition), which is based on Debian Jessie, and MATE 1.18.0.  This will be end-of-life in a few months, and there is no convenient upgrade path to LMDE 3 + MATE, so it's a good time for me to consider switching to Sparky.

Do you have any suggestions to make this switch relatively painless?

For example, is there any chance I will be able to preserve software settings (LibreOffice, Evolution, browsers, etc)?  What about file ownership and permissions?  User names?

I currently have separate partitions for:

• /
  • /boot/efi
  • /home
  • swap
and plenty of free disk space.

I've read a bunch of material on the wiki and the forum, so I understand the basics of how to install Sparky.  I'm just wondering if there are specific things I should do (or NOT do!) to make the migration easier.

Thanks!

paxmark1

It is your machine.  All choices are yours.

Wow-  LMDE2 is based on Jessie, that is ancient. 

One possible path to investigate would be to go from LMDE to Debian - possibly by changing apt/sources.  ONLY do this if others have been successful.  Check the Debian forums.  Then you could change your source list from jessie to stretch to buster   Then you could add sparky repositories.  BUT probably not.   Stretch is about to enter freeze for the transition to Buster, which is what Sparky5 is based on.There are numerous ways this could go bad.  Edit  "LMDE 2 has yet to migrate to Systemd."  No, do not do it this way.

Of course you would have made backups.