Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum https://forum.linuxiarze.pl

Connecting to a Windows workgroup - How To?

Started by linuxNoob, May 21, 2016, 07:04:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

linuxNoob

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Linux, and completely new to Sparky, so don't feel bad about dumbing down any explanations. I need it.

With that being said, I have a large amount of movie files that I would like to share throughout the house, and all of my other computers are all set up. The only thing missing is to get my Sparky pc connected to the workgroup. I have done a bit of research, and though I can find some good tutorials on how to get things set up on Ubuntu and a few other distros, I am not finding anything solid for Sparky. I gave the tutorials I did find a chance, but they all mentioned right click a file and configuring it's share settings which I found to be a not present option.

Is there anyone who has done this who could guide me a good walk through on this?

Thanks!

Wombat

The samba config file that you will need to modify as root is at /etc/samba/smb.conf.
Save a backup copy in case a mistake is made and open with leafpad.
Go down to [global] and uncomment # workgroup = workgroup
                                                       to     workgroup = workgroup   or workgroup = (whatever you named your MS workgroup as...and this should be a workgroup not a homegroup *google the difference*)

then save....if it doesn't save you are not working as root . Go back and enter 'sudo dolphin' or 'gksudo pcmanfm' in the terminal to open your file manager as root.
Best to get the sharing setup between the linux machines first... or even the one linux pc as the samba share is a different entity.

Go down to "Share Definitions" and add your folders you wish to share on your Sparky distro. I, 'wombat', have movies on a separate partition called 'store' so I have the following entries

[movies$]