Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum https://forum.linuxiarze.pl

Lumina

Started by carlo, November 19, 2014, 04:00:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

way12go

I tried Lumina in PC-BSD but the OS is very very slow. I think I need 4 GB RAM for it.
Someone said Dragonfly BSD is the fastest OS in the World and some benchmarks conducted by phoronix says otherwise.

According to my experience...

Any distro or OS is good if you know what it takes.

As I'm a newbie Sparky is the best.

With less than 1 GB Puppylinux and Porteus 32 Mate are best.

Fortunately I've 1 GB RAM on Desktop and 2 GB on Laptop.

I'm using Sparkylinux 32 Mate no-PAE on both Desktop and Laptop and Mate version seems to be a lot better than other DEs.

I think instead of replacing Sparkylinux Gameover's LXDE with XFCE it would be good with Mate? Yeah it will take little extra RAM.

Sparkylinux Gameover with Mate?

Lumina is similar to Mate.

Mate is better or is it?

I just forgot Lumina, not used much. May be, half an hour.

Thanks.
Success gives birth to success? Failure gives birth to failure? - Sagar Gorijala.

drew

Well Lumina is in the AUR so I had a chance to try it out on my Manjaro install, two things-- 1) It's nowhere near usable yet on Linux, I am not sure about on BSD but I could not even log out and several things just don't work yet. 2) It has HUGE potential as a lightweight qt based desktop and with time and polish I could see it going head to head with Lxqt. I really liked the way it was layed out even though half of the stuff didn't work.

MoroS

I've searched around the repository. It seems that there is a Debian build template included.
https://github.com/pcbsd/lumina

See the readme on the bottom of the page. It seems that you're just required to:
1. Clone the git repository: git clone https://github.com/pcbsd/lumina.git