Advertising

Welcome to SparkyLinux forums
Zapraszamy również na polsko-języczne Forum https://forum.linuxiarze.pl

I dont like being forced to install an OS the way you think it should be

Started by bikerozzy, January 04, 2014, 09:02:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bikerozzy

I have been using Linux since 1997 and as my sole OS since 2002, I h ave developed my own way of having my system set up over these years, they may not always be the most secure way, but its the way I like and have never had any problems with it.

One of the reasons for using Linux is the freedom it offers me to have my system how I wan it, and not how others think it should be.

This is my first time looking at sparkylinux, and running the installer I am forced to do things I don't want to do, ok I can sort these out after installation, but I don't see why I should be forced to do things because someone else thinks its the most secure way.

Regards

Ozzy

rexbouwense

I'm not sure I understand.  What are you being forced to do that you do not want to do?

bikerozzy

instead of warnings about telling me what to use for paswords its forcing me to do it their way, i'e I cant use the same password for root and user

Robbie

pavroo

One password  is a Cannonical idea placed in Ubuntu and all its spins-off. It is hightly dengerous to use only one the same password for a regular user and the system administrator. We follow Debian using two passwords for full security.
Nothing is easy as it looks. Danielle Steel
Join #sparkylinux.org at [url="//irc.libera.chat"]irc.libera.chat[/url]

Somewhat Reticent

No worries, bikerozzy, no matter how secure a system may be designed to be, it's never going to be 100% userproof.

Rest assured, there's always a way.  Your first option is to always log in as root ;) or name yourself "su", as in "su see, sudo".